Tags

, , , ,

The main reason that I continue to paint my Sand People is knowing that some viewers do really connect with them on a very personal level.

The work that I produce illustrates the very basic human form.  I neglect to add features,  I don’t emphasis their sex.  The figures vary in height and they are often painted in different colours.  I try very hard to leave the work open to interpretation and so each painting is drawn simplistically.

I choose the titles with the intention of bringing out the viewer’s own meaning, or to indicate one’s particular conception of the work.

It is always a very special time for me when I get to meet my customers, especially when they tell me the reasons why they were drawn to one of my pieces.

About a month ago, I had an email from a gentleman called Tim. The email was so lovely that it really made me feel that painting really is my calling in life (without trying to sound too much like a hippy).

Below is his email:

Hi Abigail

We (my wife Karen and I) visited Ludlow recently to celebrate our silver wedding and stayed at Fishmore Hall. We were knocked out by your artwork on display at the hotel. Each picture had something to convey. We particularly liked ‘Beauty Within’ which for us summed up our relationship over the last 25 years.

We would be so happy to have it hanging in our living room as a constant reminder not just of our trip to Ludlow but our life together and so I thought I just had to contact you.

Many thanks

Tim

A couple of weeks after I had received Tim’s email he contacted me to let me know that he would be coming to Ludlow to secretly purchase the painting for Karen.

We met at Ludlow Food Centre where we sat discussing the painting over a quick coffee. Tim explained to me how close Karen and he are and how when they saw the painting at Fishmore it immediately meant so much to both of them.

We discussed his interpretation of the painting and he wanted to know what inspires me to produce my Sand People paintings.

I explained to Tim, that for me, my art is my therapy and each individual pose of the figures reflects how I feel at the time that I paint.  An example of this; almost as soon as I had met Heath I started to paint couples and babies.  My mother pointed out to me at the time that I must be going through a broody time and that I really ought to stop painting babies otherwise it might scare Heath away.  I seem to remember Jackie, Heath’s mum, commenting to Heath that she thought I might be broody as there were sand families all over the house.

Tim requested for me to pick the painting up with him from Fishmore Hall.  We arrived at the hotel and Tim and I were both greeted warmly by the hotel staff and we were led through to where the painting had been very carefully wrapped up. The staff made the experience very special for Tim, and for me as I was able to see first-hand how my customers are treated when they collect a piece of my art.

The purchase experience couldn’t have been smoother.

We said goodbye and the next morning Tim sent me a text message to let me know that he had managed to secretly hang the painting on the wall and Karen was over the moon when she walked into the living room and saw it there.  It was such a great feeling to know that this particular painting had not only connected with one person but two people, who are tied together by love and they are now in love with a painting which I have produced.

Tim very kindly sent me the following text and images:

Hi Abi

I just wanted to say thank you so much for meeting me on Friday. It was really good to meet you and get to know the person who had created all that fantastic art.

You are probably wondering what Karen thought of her surprise  Well she was absolutely delighted with it as I am sure you will have guessed. I managed to smuggle it in to the house on Saturday morning and hang it in pride of place over the mantelpiece before she got up. You should have seen her face when she laid eyes upon it!

When we met on Friday we discussed how certain works stirred different thoughts and emotions in people. As you know Karen and I were visiting Fishmore Hall to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We had half an eye out for something to buy as a memento of our visit and indeed our life together. Your art work immediately struck a cord with us, especially ‘Beauty Within’, a picture of a couple embracing. For us the picture portrayed a man and a woman who are very much in love and who care for each other deeply. A couple who feel secure in each others arms. This perfectly reflects our relationship.

All our friends who have seen it have commented on what a wonderful piece it is. I admit I was a little apprehensive beforehand as I have never purchased a piece of art before (and certainly never spent that much money!) but as soon as I put it up I knew I had done the right thing!

Once again – thank you.

Regards

Tim

Beauty Within

Tim & Karen

Painting title: ‘Beauty Within’, painted by Abigail Humphries.  Copyright Abigail Humphries.  Some text and photos courtesy of Tim & Karen.